The College of Veterinarians of Ontario welcomes three new Council members as a result of the election held on October 7, 2014.

Elections were held in three electoral districts which include the communities of Bruce, Dufferin, Grey, Huron and Simcoe; Halton and Peel; and also members employed by the federal government or an agency of the federal government. As a result of the elections Dr. Patricia Lechten, a companion animal veterinarian from Barrie; Dr. Suminder Sawhney, a veterinarian with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency; and Dr. Sandra Rice, a companion animal veterinarian from Brampton were elected to serve on the College Council. The newly elected members will join Council in November.

The College continues to conduct its election process electronically. Voter participation has increased substantially with the ease of online voting. Over 45 percent of eligible voters cast their ballots in two of the electoral districts and over 60% in the third electoral district.

The College extends its gratitude to those Councillors whose terms are expiring this year – Dr. Ken Bridge, Dr. Mike Pownall and Dr. Nina Szpakowski. Their service and contribution has been greatly appreciated and has made a meaningful difference.

The College Council is composed of 13 veterinarians, who are elected by their peers, and five public members, who are appointed by the provincial government.

The College protects and serves the public interest through the regulation of the practice of veterinary medicine. Accordingly, veterinarians are licensed, facilities are accredited, standards and policies are developed and maintained, and an investigations and resolutions process is available. The College licenses approximately 4,300 veterinarians and accredits over 2,100 facilities in Ontario.