Discipline: Show Jumping
Date of Birth: June 6, 1982
Place of Birth: Hamilton, ON
Hometown: Eldora, ON
Height: 5’7"
Marital Status: single
Coach: Beth Underhill

Who are your mentors, both in and out of the equestrian industry?
I guess my parents, and anyone who’s ever achieved what they’ve set out to do. I think you can learn so many different things from different people.

If you could ride anyone else’s horse, which one would you choose?
There is a horse in Germany name Monpender, but I’m not sure who rides him.

Tell us about your first pony?
She was a little black and white Shetland named Bootsie. Our neighbor lent her to us when I was two because they didn’t have enough room. I was little and couldn’t say "Bootsie", so I always called her Mootsie.

What is the coolest place you have ever visited? When? Why?
I went to New Zealand in grade 10 to play field hockey. The people were just so friendly and the scenery was beautiful.

Do you watch a lot of television? Are there any shows you can’t do without?
I don’t watch a lot of T.V. I just watch in the morning to catch up on the news before class.

What kind of car do you drive?
It changes, but right now a Blazer.

Who is the most interesting person you have ever met?
My grandmother, just because she’ll tell stories from the 1920’s and it’s just crazy stuff she has seen.

What traits do you like/dislike most about yourself?
I’m fairly open to new things, but I’m decisive.

What is one item that you can’t leave home without?
My cell phone.

Do you have a dog or cat? What kind? Do they go to the horse shows with you?
I have a cat named Dallas and he lives with me at school, but he doesn’t go to shows.

Do you have a favourite type of music or favourite band?
I like all kinds of music, mostly Classic Rock, but also Hip-Hop, Ska, Alternative…everything.

What are your biggest pet peeves?
Rudeness and arrogance.

What is the funniest experience you have ever had with a fan?
There was one really cute little girl wearing her riding boots who came up to me in my hometown grocery store. She said "I’m wearing my riding boots to be like you!".

Did you go to university/college? If so, what for? If not, do you regret not going? Why?
Yes, I’m in fourth year of Honours, Political Science at McMaster. I’m also doing a minor in Anthropology. I’m going to see how riding goes next year before I decide on a future.

If someone spotted you on the street, what kind of clothes would you be wearing?
Definitely just jeans and a T-shirt.

What is the most embarrassing moment you have had in your riding career ?
There is not one that really comes to mind but any one of the times I’ve fallen off in front of people.

If you could give back to the equestrian industry in some way, how would you do so?
Maybe I’d offer free pony rides to get more kids into riding.

Who is your favourite actor or actress?
Benicio Del Toro and Edward Norton

If you couldn’t compete in your current sport, what other equestrian discipline would you like to try?
Four-in-hand carriage driving. I don’t know why, it just seems like it would be fun.