Name: Shannon Dueck
Date of Birth:  October 4, 1962
Place of Birth: Austin Texas
Height: 5’11”
What type of books do you like reading? What are you currently reading? 
All kinds – mostly fiction with a great storyline.  I am currently reading and loving Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese, a fantastic story about conjoined twins based in Ethiopia…..
Are there any TV shows you can’t miss? 
I am a huge fan of Modern Family and the Jon Steward Show.  
What’s on your iPod? 
Mostly Podcasts – my favorites are NPR’s gameshow “Wait Wait Don’t Tell me”  and “Stuff You Should Know”. 
Who’s #1 on your speed-dial? 
My hubby Lorne.
What’s your favourite meal? 
Lobster cooked in any way.
If you won $50 million in a lottery, what would you do with the money? 
Well,  I would get a new car first!    Then I would figure out how much we needed to live on and then give a little to family and friends, and the rest to a charities.  
What’s your on-line addiction? (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) 
None really, I am on Facebook but I only look at it every couple of weeks.
What is the coolest place you have ever visited? 
I have been so many cool places, but maybe the best was Morocco. 
Where do you want to see yourself in five years, not only in regard to horses? 
I would love to be working a little less frantically,  because I will have already been to the Olympics (in 2012) and will have accomplished this major goal.  I hope I will be taking more time to do things other than ride and teach,  like going to the beach and maybe doing some boating. 
Tell us about your first horse or pony.  
Oh yes,  I remember Mr. Cinders was beautiful black pony, very well trained, but unfortunately for me, also very smart.  He had my number immediately and bucked me off or ran away with me daily.  
Is there someone you consider your mentor?
There is not any one person.  There are many people I admire greatly for a variety of reasons.  
What is your favourite show venue, and why? 
I have many favorites.  I guess to name one it has to be Fritzens in Austria,  it is spectacularly situated in the Alps, and Swarovski Crystals are front and center there (owned by the family).
If you could be granted one wish, what would it be?  
I would hope to end poverty.  I think if we could do this most other big wishes (like World Peace, and No Animal Abuse)  could be achieved without magic. 
What is one of your worst habits/faults? 
Me?  A bad habit?  I’m not owning up to any!
Do you have any good luck charms or superstitions that you live by? 
My only superstition is to not voice negative thoughts, as it gives them power.  
Do you have a cat or dog? Does it go to shows with you?
I have two dogs and two cats, and they usually stay home when I am at shows.  I have lots of students and it is usually too busy to take care of dogs when I am competing.
What are your biggest pet peeves?
Rider’s blaming their horse when things go wrong. 
If you couldn’t ride anymore, what would you do with your life, besides coaching? 
Travel and write Travel Books.
Who is your favorite non-equestrian celebrity? 
Rick Mercer is right up there.
What was the scariest experience of your life?  
My diagnosis of Breast Cancer in 2009.   I am very, very thankful for early diagnosis and good doctors.