Discipline: 3-Day Eventing
Date of Birth: Aug. 16, 1974
Place of Birth: Montreal, QC
Hometown: Grew up in Toronto, now lives in Newnan, GA.
Height: 5’8”
Marital Status: married; two daughters, Amelia and Cassandra.
Other Careers (if any): Runs Wayfarer Equestrian Corp./Wayfarer Eventing.
Coach: Self, as well as wife Emma, who is also rides at the advanced level. Takes clinics with Jimmy Wofford and Jane Savoie.

Do you have a favorite author? Who?
George Orwell. Books like 1984 and Animal Farm made reading become enjoyable for the first time in school.

What, other than riding, do you do to keep fit?
I just ride about 6-8 horses a day.

If you did not become a professional rider, what profession would you have gone into?
It’s not really a profession, but I really kind of wanted to be a world traveler. I really like a somewhat nomadic lifestyle.

Do you watch a lot of television? Are there any shows you can’t do without?
I really watch the news a lot actually. CNN, MSNBC, cable news…

Who are your mentors, both in and outside the equestrian industry?
I don’t now about mentors, but the people who I admire the most are my parents and my brother. I think they’re really good people. I’m really grounded by my family.

What kind of car do you drive?
A 2004 Chevy one-ton diesel and a VW wagon.

What is the coolest place you’ve ever visited? When? Why?
Greece, just because it was such a different culture, and the circumstances of going (for the Olympics).

If you could ride anyone else’s horse, which one would you choose?
Kim Vinoski’s Over the Limit.

What is the most memorable/important horse show moment to you? Why?
Going to the Olympics. I just think it was more than a horse show. With the length of time we were there, and meeting people from all different parts of the world, it was an educational and cultural experience.

Tell us about your first pony.
My first pony was named Sunset Cobbler. He reared and bucked all the time. He was horrible. I just know my daughter won’t be on one like that.

Who is the most interesting person you’ve ever met?
My uncle Leo because he has been through so much as a Holocaust survivor. He’s a very interesting person.

If you could be granted one wish, what would it be?
You know a lot of people say stuff like world peace, but I want peace with myself. Not to have what I want, but to be content with what I have.

What is something you have done in your life that you truly regret?
That I didn’t do better in school.

Did you go to college/university? If so, where and what for? If not, do you regret not going? Why?
No, I took equine anatomy and physiology at Humber College , but I pursued the riding rather than college.

What are some words of advice for readers of our magazines that you’d like them to remember you for?
As it applies to people in a similar situation, horses become your livelihood. You have to remember that you once lived to ride and not rode to live. You do it because you love the horses.

What is one of your worst habits?
I talk too much.

What is the trait you like most about yourself? Like least?
I really like that I’m naturally really focused and determined, but at the same time, that’s what I like least. It makes it difficult to relax and enjoy life.

What is one item you cannot leave home without?
I just can’t be anywhere without my cell phone.