Date of Birth: Feb. 23, 1965
Place of Birth: Venise, Quebec
Hometown: Bromont, QC
Height: 5’8”
Marital Status: Unmarried
Other Careers (if any): None
Coach: Self

Do you have a favorite author? Who?
I’m not a big book reader to tell you the truth. I like movies more.

What, other than riding, do you do to keep fit?
Play hockey, golf, tennis, ski. That takes up pretty much all my time.

If you did not become a professional rider, what profession would you have gone into?
Maybe a hockey player. I played all my life – until I was 20 – at a pretty high level. I did both the riding and the hockey for a long time.

Do you watch a lot of television? Are there any shows you can’t do without?
I watch TV but I can’t say that I have to watch it all the time. I watch football on the weekends. Some good movies and stuff.

Who are your mentors, both in and outside the equestrian industry?
When I was a kid I used to watch all the hockey players and basketball players like Michael Jordan. But also people like Rodney Jenkins. And Michael Matz, who I trained with as a kid.

What kind of car do you drive?
A Mercedes.

Who is your favorite actor or actress?
Sean Connery and Renee Russo.

What is the coolest place you’ve ever visited? When? Why?
Actually I went to Ascona, Switzerland this summer to show. It’s on the Swiss-Italian border with the mountains and the big lakes.

What is your favorite quote?
“If it’s not broken, don’t fix it.”

What is something you have done in your life that you truly regret?
I don’t think I regret so many things. I don’t know.

Did you go to college/university? If so, where and what for? If not, do you regret not going? Why?
I went to 2 semesters of college – business school. I don’t regret not finishing. There was no time really, with the riding and traveling.

What are some words of advice for readers of our magazines that you’d like them to remember you for?
Well I think it’s very important when you ride or get a new horse to be very comfortable, not to get in over your head. Try to keep that horse at the level where you feel comfortable and don’t let yourself be over-exposed or overdone.

What is one of your worst habits?
Driving too fast. But not with the horse trailer. I try not to drive it too often.

Do you have a favorite band or song?
I like U2.

When did you start riding and how? (Pony Club, backyard pony, etc)
I grew up with horses in the family. My grandfather was in pony races – the trotters and pacers with sulkies. When I was two or three years old I started riding because we moved to Bromont. My Dad used to rent out schooling horses and he started to work at the Equestrian Centre at Bromont around the time the Olympics came in ‘76. I started with a few ponies, but I was riding horses when I was six.

If someone spotted you on the street, what kind of clothes would you be wearing?
I guess mostly jeans and a polo shirt. Mostly casual. Once in awhile I get dressed up I guess.

What has been the most embarrassing moment you’ve had in your riding career?
I’m sure falling off somewhere. Maybe in the World Cup finals… One of those big places. I guess it happens though and you get back on a keep going.

If you were able to give back to the equestrian industry in some way, how would you do that?
I’m starting to teach a little more now, help junior riders, try to do the right thing and ride the right horses so they’re successful, help people around here.