Discipline: Dressage
Date of Birth: September 25, 1968
Place of Birth: Salisbury, England
Hometown: King City, ON
Height: 5′ 1/4"
Marital Status: Lives with partner Andrew Gibson
Coach: Self, but I also participate in many clinics.

Do you have a favorite author? Who?
I read a lot… anything and everything, from Margaret Atwood to Dick Francis

How other than riding, do you keep fit?
Nothing. It’s true- I do absolutely nothing else! I garden.

If you did not become a professional rider, what profession would you have gone into?
I might have been a lawyer or a journalist.

Do you watch a lot of television? Are there any shows you can’t do without?
No- I hardly ever watch T.V.

Who are your mentors, both in and outside the equestrian industry?
My mother- a strong, independent, slightly crazy lady!

What kind of car do you drive?
I have a Chevy Blazer 4×4

What is the coolest place you have ever visited? Why? When?
Australia, for the Trivett CDI competition where we borrowed horses in 1996.

Growing up, did you want to be a professional equestrian, or was there another career you were aiming for?
ALWAYS…Since I was tiny I wanted to be a rider.

What is your favourite quote and who said it?
"Don’t talk about it, do it".

What is something you have done in your life that you truly regret?

Did you go to university/college? If so, what for? If not, do you regret not going? Why?
No, I actually did my last year of high school by correspondence so I could ride. I always said I would go back if I wanted to do something else, but I don’t regret it at all.

What are some words of advice for readers of our magazine that you’d like them to remember you for?
I think hard work and a positive attitude go a long way in life and riding.

What is one of your worst habits ?
Oh, I can’t tell anybody that…!

Which words or phrases do you overuse?
"Pippi come, we’re late!"

Is there a song that best describes you and your lifestyle?
Any song, as long as it’s on fast forward.

If someone spotted you on the street, what kind of clothes would you be wearing?
Probably breeches or blue jeans. 

If you could give back to the equestrian industry in some way, how would you do so?
I would like to help young riders get started. A lot of people were very kind to me when I was young and poor.

Who is your favourite actor or actress?
Hugh Grant

When did you start riding and how? (Pony Club, backyard pony, etc)
I started riding when I was 6 in England. I went to one of those riding schools where you don’t get to ride until you can tack up and get on yourself. I didn’t get to ride until the third lesson.

What has been the most embarrassing moment you’ve had in your riding career?
To many to count and none that I want to remember!