In the aftermath of their formal resignation from Equine Canada on September 16th, 2010, following months of dispute over entering into a service agreement with EC, the six non-signing provinces (Alberta, Saskatchewan, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland & Labrador) have formed their own national alliance. As yet unnamed and pending the approval of Industry Canada,  the alliance is incorporated under the provisions of the Canada Corporations Act and represents more than 30,000 Canadians through the Alberta Equestrian Federation, the Saskatchewan Horse Federation, Fédération équestre du Québec, Nova Scotia Equestrian Federation, the Newfoundland Equestrian Association, and the Island Horse Council (PEI). Dixie Crowson, president of the AEF, will serve as its first president.

This new alliance’s aims include investing in sport, recreation and industry development at the local and grass-roots level, while promoting the horse and horse welfare. A board of directors consisting of the six presidents of the founding federations has been formed; more details will be released once the corporate name is approved.