Discipline: 3-Day Eventing
Date of birth: April 14, 1960
Place of birth: Bermuda
Hometown: Caledon East, ON
Height: 5’11"
Coach: Self, mostly

Do you have a favorite author? Who?
Yes, Jeffrey Archer.

How other than riding, do you keep fit?
Not much…

If you did not become a professional rider, what profession would you have gone

I was a fireman for three years. I would have liked to try being an actor.

Do you watch a lot of television? Are there any shows you can’t do without?
Yes-I watch Survivor and Six Feet Under

What is the coolest place you have ever visited? Why? When?
Thailand in 1995 for a vacation. I like the pace of life- it’s just really hot
and slow.

What is the most memorable/important horse show moment to you? Why?
I think finishing my dressage test at the Olympics because it went as well as I
wanted it too.

Tell us about your first pony.
My first pony was Blue Boy he was a black Quarter Horsey-type and he ran
backwards and forwards. I was nine years old.

Who is the most interesting person you’ve ever met?
John Haney. He’s one of my neighbours actually. He invented Trivial Pursuit.

Did you go to university/college? If so, what for? If not, do you regret not going? Why?
No sometimes I regret it. I love my job though.

What are some words of advice for readers of our magazine that you’d like them to
remember you for?

Keep your chin up and don’t give up.

What is one of your worst habits ?
I bite my nails.

What is the trait you like most about yourself? Like least?
My "givingness" That’s also my least favourite trait.

What is one item you can’t leave home without?

Do you have a dog or cat? What kind? Do they go to the horse shows with you?
I have two dogs. They’re both pound puppies, and yes they go to shows with
me. One has even done dressage with David O’Connor at Foxhall.

If you could give back to the equestrian industry in some way, how would you do so?
I like helping young riders, through both coaching and donating horses.

Do you have any good luck charms and superstitions for competition?
I have a pair of lucky underwear.

Who is your favourite actor or actress?
William H.Macy

When did you start riding and how? (Pony Club, backyard pony, etc)
I started at eight years old and I joined Pony Club. We moved to Canada
right before I took my B rating.

If you couldn’t compete in your current sport, what other equestrian discipline
would you like to try?


What has been the most embarrassing moment you’ve had in your riding career?
In Bermuda years ago, I did a costume class once and the skirt I was wearing
blew up.