Discipline: Dressage
Date of Birth: June 19, 1952
Place of Birth: Edmonton, Alberta
Height: 5’2"
Hometown: Jerseyville, ON
Marital Status: married; Lynn

Do you have a favorite author? Who?
I like a variety of authors. I especially like reading about Native American history and culture.

How other than riding, do you keep fit?
I go walking and attend step class and cardio-knick class.

What mentors do you have, in and outside of the equestrian industry?
Willi Schultheis, Siegfried Peillcke, Alwyn Morris and Diane Longboat

What kind of car do you drive?
A Subaru Outback

What is the coolest place you have ever visited? Why? When?
Stonehenge and Alcatraz

If you were an animal, what animal would you be? Why?
A wolf, because they are family oriented, loyal, intelligent, and beautiful.

If you could ride anyone else’s horse, which one would you choose?
I don’t wish to ride anyone else’s horse. I recognize that there are many great horses in the world that have been trained well, but they are not a product of my work. My greatest pleasure in riding, is riding what I am producing or produced.

What was the most memorable/important horse show moment to you? Why?
The most memorable horse show for me was winning the bronze medal in Seoul. The reason for this is because it was an accumulation of years of work that all came together at the right time.

Tell us about your first pony.
I never owned a pony. Actually the first horse I’ve owned was bought only four years ago.

Who is the most interesting person you have had the opportunity to meet?
I can’t pick one specific person. I’ve met so many wonderful and interesting people in my travels and feel privileged for the opportunities I’ve had. 

Who is someone that you have NEVER met, in or out of the horse industry that you would love to meet? Why?
I’d love to meet Dali Lama because of his spiritual outlook on life. 

Growing up, did you want to be a professional equestrian, or was there another career you were aiming for?
I actually started off training as a swimmer and then switched to riding, although becoming a Phys-Ed teacher has always been in the back of my head.

If you could be granted one wish, what would it be?
If I could be granted one wish, I would wish that there would be no suffering in the world.

What is your favorite quote and who said it?
As Jack Nicholas once said- "The more I practice, the luckier I get."

What is something you have done in your life that you truly regret?
The only thing that I truly regret is that I never rode freestyle at the Royal Winter Fair in honour of the Burns family and the Dynasty for all their support.

Did you go to university/college? If so, what for? If not, do you regret not going? Why?
No, I did not go to university or college and I don’t regret it because I don’t feel that it would have helped me in my career.

What are some words of advice for readers of our magazine that you’d like them to remember you for?
Fight for what you believe in and be true to yourself.

What is one of your worst habits?

Whathas been the scariest experience of your life?
Rushing to the hospital with one of my children when they were extremely ill.

If you were able to give back to the equestrian industry in some way, how would you do that?
I feel that I already give back to the equestrian community by giving free clinics, lectures, lessons and advice

What traits do you like/dislike most about yourself?
One of the things I like about myself is my ability to focus on the problem at hand and deal with it. The thing I dislike is my intensity.

What is one item that you can’t leave home without?
I can’t leave home without my glasses. I can’t see worth a damn without them. People sometimes think that I am being rude when I walk past them at a horse show and don’t acknowledge them. The reason is that I probably didn’t recognize them because I only have 10% vision in one eye.

Do you have a dog or cat? What kind? Do they go to the horse shows with you?
I have a German Sheppard, but unfortunately due to circumstances I can’t take him with me to horse shows.

What was your all time favourite movie?
Dances with Wolves.

What are your biggest pet peeves?
My biggest pet peeve is dealing with people who talk the talk, but can’t walk the walk.

Of all your past horses, which one did you enjoy the most?
The answer of course is Dynasty.

Do you coach and do you enjoy it?
Yes I coach on a daily basis. I take great pleasure in teaching people who really want to learn no matter what level they are.

Is there one song that describes you and your way of life?
I Hope You Dance and The Rose

When did you start riding and how? (Pony Club, backyard pony, etc)
I started riding in Germany while my father was stationed there. I was thirteen at that time, and there was a riding club close to the base. I asked my father if I could have lessons, and that was the beginning of the end.

If you couldn’t ride anymore what would you do with your life beside coaching?
I would work on a Native healing farm north of Winnipeg, where they use horses to help troubled children.

What has been the most embarrassing moment you have had in riding?
In Vienna, in 1975, I was riding a Prix St.George test on Martyr. I halted at X to start the test and every timed I tried to go forward he reared. When I tried to turn he reared. I tried to dismount and he reared. Finally, I had to be lead out of the ring.