Peter Doubleday has been elected Chairman of the Board of the Show Jumping Hall of Fame and Museum, Inc. Doubleday, a founding Director of the Hall of Fame, succeeds Gene Mische, who served as Chairman since the inception of the Hall of Fame in 1987 until his death this past December.

Doubleday has been a prominent figure on the nation’s horse show circuit since 1975. As the show announcer for about 30 horse shows a year, his voice has been heard by millions over the years. In addition to announcing many of this country’s leading horse shows such as the American Invitational and National Horse Show, he has also announced major international competitions such as the FEI World Cup Finals, Pan American Games and the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta.

Doubleday has also served as manager of many of the nation’s top horse shows including the National Horse Show, Pennsylvania National Horse Show and Devon Horse Show, as well as the Royal Horse Show in Canada. A USEF and FEI rated judge, he has served on the USEF Jumper and Show Management Committees and was also a Director of the American Grandprix Association.

“I am deeply honored that my colleagues on the Show Jumping Hall of Fame Board of Directors have chosen to elect me as Board Chairman,” Doubleday said. “The Hall of Fame has helped bring the history of our sport, and the contributions of those who have played a role in its development, to a new generation who may have otherwise been unaware of some of its glorious past. Our recent move to the Kentucky Horse Park presents us with great opportunities to bring this history to more people in more ways, and I look forward to working with our president, George Morris, and our board to take full advantage of all these opportunities.”

The Show Jumping Hall of Fame, located at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY, was organized to promote the sport of show jumping and to immortalize the legends of the men, women and horses who have made great contributions to the sport. Plaques paying tribute to those who have been honored with induction into the Hall of Fame can be seen at the Horse Park’s Rolex Stadium. Mementos and artifacts from the sport’s history are on display as part of the Show Jumping Hall of Fame collection at the United States Hunter Jumper Association (USHJA) National Hunter Jumper Sport Museum at the Horse Park.

The Show Jumping Hall of Fame also conducts the Show Jumping Hall of Fame Jumper Classic Series, a national show jumping series with classes held under Grand Prix rules and specifications at approximately 100 horse shows across the country. The Series has separate divisions for junior and amateur-owner riders in two Conferences—East and West. Series standings are used to help determine junior and amateur-owner entries for the National Horse Show where the Series holds a year-end championship final.

The Board of Directors of the Show Jumping Hall of Fame includes Elizabeth Busch Burke, Frank Chapot, Brownlee Currey, David Distler, Peter Doubleday, Joe Fargis, Sally Ike, Larry Langer, John Madden, George Morris, Mason Phelps, Fran Steinwedell, Chrystine Tauber, and Marcia Williams. Further information about the Show Jumping Hall of Fame, including the 2011 Show Jumping Hall of Fame Jumper Classic Series, is available at the Show Jumping Hall of Fame website at