Nominations have officially opened for the Equestrian Canada (EC) National Awards, and will remain open until Feb. 11, 2019 at 4p.m. ET.

It’s time to celebrate the impressive achievements of individuals, equines and organizations who have contributed to the growth and success of the equestrian community over the past year.

EC Sport Licence Holders, Registered Participants and Affiliates are encouraged to submit nominations through the new EC Awards Portal here.

Submit a Nomination Today! 

The following awards are open for nominations:

Gold Medal Award

Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobsen Trophy

Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy

Horse of a Lifetime – The Hickstead Trophy

Horse of the Year – NEW

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year

Canadian Breeder of the Year

Volunteer of the Year

Owner of the Year

Equestrian Canada Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy

Health & Welfare Award

Full award criteria, information and nomination forms can be found at

If you know a person, horse or organization that deserves the honour and recognition of an EC National Award, be sure to submit your nomination by the deadline of Feb. 11, 2019 at 4 p.m. ET.

New for 2019

The EC Awards Committee is pleased to introduce a new award this year, the Horse of the Year Award, created to recognize a horse that has had an exceptional performance year. Subsequently the former Horse of the Year Award – The Hickstead Trophy has been updated to the Horse of a Lifetime Award, and recognizes horses with long-established celebrity or iconic performance status. While the Horse of a Lifetime Award – The Hickstead Trophy is only awarded when warranted, the Horse of the Year Award will be presented annually.

Selection of EC National Awards

Nominations for EC National Awards will be reviewed, and recipients will be chosen, by the EC Awards Committee, with support and input from appropriate EC stakeholders and experts. The 2018 EC Awards Committee members are Carla Robin (Chair), Jennifer Anstey, Michael Boyd, Peggy Hambly, Karen Sparks and Robyn Tremblay.