Headwaters Tourism has been awarded The Visa Canada Innovator of the Year Award for the Headwaters Parade of Horses. The team was recognized on November 30th, in Gatineau, Quebec, among tourism industry leaders from across the country.

The Canadian Tourism Awards are presented annually by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada’s tourism industry, and to reward those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to offer travellers superior tourism experiences in Canada.

“A huge debt of gratitude to the Headwaters Equine Leadership Group for their vision; to Vicki Sword, project manager; to all the artists who voluntarily transformed the horses into magical works of art; and to the patrons who generously supported the project. The Headwaters Parade of Horses showcases the power of community and this recognition by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada is a testament to community coming together to create a legacy for the Toronto 2015 Pam Am Games,” said Headwaters Tourism Board Chair, Stacey Coupland.

Headwaters Tourism was also showcased as a Canadian Tourism Awards finalist in the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Marketing Campaign of the Year category for the “Where Ontario Gets Real” campaign. Headwaters was honoured to be a finalist alongside the province of Newfoundland & Labrador and in the company of the winner, the Ontario Tourism Marketing Corporation’s “Where Am I?” marketing campaign.

This national recognition at the 2016 Canadian Tourism Awards comes on the heels of Headwaters Tourism being a three-time winner at the 2016 Ontario Tourism Awards of Excellence, just a week ago in the nation’s capital. On November 22nd, Headwaters Tourism was named a winner in the following categories by the Tourism Industry Association of Ontario:

• Tourism Marketing Campaign Under $25K for the Headwaters: Where Ontario Gets Real brand launch

• Tourism Print Collateral Award for the Headwaters 2015 Four-Season Visitors’ Guide

• Tourism Innovator of the Year for the Headwaters Parade of Horses