The Equestrian Canada (EC) Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the slate of 11 candidates selected for presentation to EC’s voting members for consideration as Directors on the 2017 EC Board.

A total of 33 qualified candidates provided a nomination package by the close of the nomination period on June 1, 2017. All candidate applications were reviewed by the EC Nominating Committee members, who are as follows:

Dominique Chagnon (Chair) – Calixa-Lavallée, QC
Mark Samuel – Mississauga, ON
Karen Sparks – Kanata, ON
Diane Goyette – St. Lazare, QC
Susan Thompson – Delta, BC
Richard Mackenzie – Nestleton, ON
Haidee Landry – Langley, BC

In accordance with EC’s By-laws and the Nominating Committee’s mandate to ensure EC has a rigorous nomination system that allows for the recruitment of qualified individuals to stand for election as Directors, the Committee members performed an in-depth review of all applicants. As a result, the Nominating Committee members have unanimously agreed to put forward ballot nominations for the following 11 individuals:

• Laura Balisky – Langley, BC
• Craig Collins – Loretto, ON
• Charles Cue – Aylesford, NS
• Willa Gauthier – Erin, ON
• Peggy Hambly – Guelph, ON
• Meg Krueger – Mississauga, ON
• Rupert May – Langley, BC
• Robert Mitchell – Vancouver, BC
• Carla Robin – Langley, BC
• Natasha Skupsky – Toronto, ON
• Chris Sorensen – Caledon, ON

Further information on the candidates, including curricula vitae and letters of interest can be found at

In 2017, up to eight (8) Director positions will be filled as per Bylaw 4.2, b) Transition:

• Four (4) positions for a three-year term ending in 2020
• One (1) position for a one-year term ending in 2018

In addition, as a result of recent resignations, the Board has elected to fill the vacancies for the balance of the terms as follows:

• Two (2) positions for a two-year term ending in 2019
• One (1) position for a one-year term ending in 2018

The next step in the 2017 EC Board election will be for the EC Voting Members to cast their ballots by Aug. 3, 2017. The results of the election will be announced on Aug. 24, 2017.