Equine Canada (EC) was pleased to honour some of Canada’s best and brightest equestrians and supporters at the prestigious EC Annual Awards Gala at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa in Gatineau, Que. on Friday, March 27. Held in conjunction with the EC Annual Convention, March 25-29, the national awards gala celebrates outstanding achievements within the equestrian community.

“We’re delighted to be able to recognize this phenomenal group of individuals, organizations and horses,” said EC President, Al Patterson. “This year’s recipients are true ambassadors of the sport, both here at home and abroad. Congratulations to all of the 2014 winners and thank you for your service and dedication.”

The following award recipients were recognized for their outstanding dedication, talent and enthusiasm in support of equestrianism in Canada.


Lifetime Achievement Award – Mary Anne Laframboise

Volunteer of the Year – Dr. Mary Bell

Equestrian of the Year – Lauren Barwick

Junior Equestrian of the Year – Natalie Alves

Canadian Breeder of the Year – Charlotte Schickedanz

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year – Intimidate

Boeringer Ingleheim Equine Canada Health and Welfare Award – Galahad-Association Quebecoise de protection des chevaux

For further information on the National Award recipients, click here.


Equine Canada/NCCP Competitive Coach of the Year – Roberta Byng-Morris

Equine Canada/NCCP Community Coach of the Year – Katelynn Marshall

Equine Canada/NCCP Coach Developer Award for Program Delivery – Danielle Yaghijdan

Equine Canada/NCCP Coach Developer Award for Program Development – Mary-Clare McLaren

For full information on the Coaching Award recipients, click here.


Welsh Pony of the Year – Barkway Topaz

Morgan Horse of the Year – HSH Smooth Operator

Arabian Horse of the Year – Sur Teddy’s Magna +++//

Half Arabian Horse of the Year – Sweet and Saucy

For full information on the Breed Sport Award recipients, click here.