Ask the Judge: combined divisions, false starts, exists and more

When a hunter division is combined, do you give bonus points to a horse that has to jump the higher height? No, not really, but if I have equal performances I might be inclined to reward the horse having to jump the higher height. A rider starts the hunter course with a grand tour of the ring at a trot, and then picks up the wrong lead, breaks back to trot, does a circle, and then departs at the canter. How do you score that? This is a false start that I would consider a major fault. The rider should have fixed the lead, then gone on to the jump. No more circles. At the end of a course, what are you looking for? A prompt exit. I already have you scored and in the order, so no big tours of the ring. The next one is waiting and the…

Subscription Upgrade Required

Upgrade your subscription now for full access or register to continue reading.


Subscribers: enter the email and password connected to your subscription.

First time logging in?
Click here.

Tablet/Mobile users must also refresh after login to activate subscription.

Not a subscriber yet?
Click here to see our print and digital subscription offers that include full access to all articles.

Subscribe now and enjoy full access to

Your All-Access Digital Subscription includes unlimited access to all articles as well as a digital subscription to each issue of Horse Sport, Horse Canada, and Canadian Thoroughbred.

digital subscription

Get full access to including all articles from Horse Sport, Horse Canada, Canadian Thoroughbred, and The Canadian Horse Annual.

print subscription

Read the digital editions of Horse Sport, Horse Canada, Canadian Thoroughbred, and The Canadian Horse Annual.

View Print and Digital Subscription Offers

Love our Articles?

If you enjoyed reading the articles on this website, consider subscribing to get upcoming issues as they are published! Simply click on the button below to see your options.


to top