Ask the Judge: rider attire, leading horses, ridiculous requests and more
You are judging an under-saddle class, and you have a clear winner that makes a slight error, such as picking up the wrong lead for one stride, or breaking from the canter to the trot for one step. Are they out of the ribbons? If the error occurs in a pre-green or beginner division, then they can still be my winner. In more advanced divisions, I might still be inclined to forgive the slight error if they are otherwise the stand-out winner relative to the rest of the class. When has a rider’s attire resulted in you pinning them lower, or not at all? An undone choker or collar in an equitation class is not allowed, and gloves are required. The only time I have moved a rider down to the bottom of the ribbons is for not wearing gloves in an equitation class. As a rule, riders should turn…
Subscription Upgrade RequiredUpgrade your subscription now for full access or register to continue reading.
Subscribers: enter the email and password connected to your subscription.
First time logging in?
Not a subscriber yet?
Click here to see our print and digital subscription offers that include full access to all Horse-Canada.com articles.
Subscribe now and enjoy full access to Horse-Canada.com
Your All-Access Digital Subscription includes unlimited access to all Horse-Canada.com articles as well as a digital subscription to each issue of Horse Sport, Horse Canada, and Canadian Thoroughbred.
Get full access to Horse-Canada.com including all articles from Horse Sport, Horse Canada, Canadian Thoroughbred, and The Canadian Horse Annual.
Read the digital editions of Horse Sport, Horse Canada, Canadian Thoroughbred, and The Canadian Horse Annual.
copyright © horse-canada.com 2014