Ask the Judge: combined divisions, false starts, exists and more
Randy Roy is a senior international judge, course designer and author. He answers a variety of competitors’ questions in his column. When a hunter division is combined, do you give bonus points to a horse that has to jump the higher height? No, not really, but if I have equal performances I might be inclined to reward the horse having to jump the higher height. A rider starts the hunter course with a grand tour of the ring at a trot, and then picks up the wrong lead, breaks back to trot, does a circle, and then departs at the canter. How do you score that? This is a false start that I would consider a major fault. The rider should have fixed the lead, then gone on to the jump. No more circles. At the end of a course, what are you looking for? A prompt exit. I already…
Subscribers: enter the email and password connected to your subscription.
First time logging in?
Subscribe now and enjoy full access to Horse-Canada.com
Your All-Access Digital Subscription includes unlimited access to all Horse-Canada.com articles as well as a digital subscription to each issue of Horse Sport, Horse Canada, and Canadian Thoroughbred.
Get full access to Horse-Canada.com including all articles from Horse Sport, Horse Canada, Canadian Thoroughbred, and The Canadian Horse Annual.
Read the digital editions of Horse Sport, Horse Canada, Canadian Thoroughbred, and The Canadian Horse Annual.