The 2013 ProChaps/NCCP National Coaching Awards were presented at the Equine Canada Annual Awards Gala held on Feb.7 at the Radisson Hotel in Winnipeg, MB.

The ProChaps/NCCP Coaching Awards and the Coaching Excellence Awards were presented by Trish Mrakawa, Chair of the National Coaching Committee. The awards are presented to coaches and instructors from all disciplines and contexts who exemplify the coaching and teaching practices of the National Coaching Certification Program. Nominees were recognized for their contribution to the sport as an instructor and coach, whether their students are active in competitive sport, or are recreational sport participants.

The Coaching Awards presented during the gala included:

Coaching Excellence Awards

The Coaching Excellence Awards recognize the individuals who go above and beyond in their contributions to the development and promotion of our national education and development programs for coaches, instructors and riders. These recipients have not only dedicated hundreds of hours of their personal time, but have also been recognized and nominated by their peers for their contribution to our world class coaching and rider education programs.

Western Coaching Program – Wendy Johnston

English Coaching Program – Victoria Andrew

Western Evaluator – Barbara Newlands

English Evaluator – Kathy Playdon

Learning Facilitator – Lorraine Hill

Drive Coaching Program – Kathleen Winfield

Program Administration – Wendy Sewell

National Coaching Awards

The National Coaching awards were presented to coaches and instructors who exemplify the National Coaching Certification Program, and set an example promoting rider education through the national Learn to Ride and Learn to Drive programs. These individuals were instrumental to the success of our programs and their passion inspires other coaches around them.

Para-Equestrian and Therapeutic Riding
Chelsea Van Lierde
Joan Sopow
Kendra Flynn-Stronach

English Instructor of Beginners
Danielle Gallant
Madeline West

Western Instructor of Beginners
Sarah Andrews

English Level 1/Competition Coach
Alyssa Noonan
Connie Dorsch
Geneviève Dupont
Heather Stauble
Irina Yastrebova
Laura Williams
Melissa Reimche

Western Level 1/Competition Coach
Lisa Wieben
Norma Graham

English Level 2/Competition Coach Specialist
Gina Allan
Janet Adams
Judy Hunter
Krista Pollack
Leslie Hierath
Marie Helen Lessard
Olivia Van den Berg
Rosalind Moskovits
Susanne Rauhut

Western Level 2
Wendy Price
Ruth Ratcliffe

Level 3/High Performance
Eleonore Elstone
Wendy Nelson
Margie Gayford
Marie-Claire Savard