Canada’s Eric Lamaze will be among the world’s top riders competing in the next leg of the Longines Global Champions Tour in Miami Beach this weekend. Fans are anxious to see Lamaze back in action after a light showing schedule this winter in West Palm Beach.

The third leg of the 2019 series, the LGCT Miami Beach event is held just a stone’s throw away from the Atlantic Ocean, with free entry, offering new spectators a chance to witness Olympic athletes in action.

Overall LGCT rankings leader Niels Bruynseels (BEL) will be hoping to extend his lead of 55 points. The pressure will be on, however, as the second and joint third placed riders will be hot on his trail. Daniel Deusser (GER) is just three points away, with 52 overall, while Ben Maher (GBR) and Pieter Devos (BEL), tied for third, each have 48 points.

Bruynseels will also face stiff competition from two-time LGCT Grand Prix of Miami Beach winner Edwina Tops-Alexander (AUS), as well as 2015 winner Scott Brash (GBR), both of whom will be looking for a repeat of their previous wins.

Fans are excited to see Lamaze back in action.

Fans are excited to see Lamaze back in action.

Lamaze, who is expected to bring top mounts Chacco Kid and Fine Lady, should never be counted out. Lamaze competed in his first Longines Global Champions Tour in 2006. In 2009, he was the LGCT Rio de Janeiro Grand Prix silver medallist, riding Hickstead. In 2014, he and Fine Lady won the LGCT Chantilly Grand Prix bronze medal.

A strong contingent of American riders will also be present, including Laura Kraut, Kent Farrington, Jessica Springsteen, Georgina Bloomberg, Mclain Ward, Jennifer Gates and Margie Goldstein-Engle.

Other big names from the international field of competitors include Harrie Smolders (NED), Nicola Philippaerts (BEL), Olivier Philippaerts (BEL), Peder Fredricson (SWE), Simon Delestre (FRA), Lorenzo de Luca (ITA), Bertram Allen (IRL), Christian Ahlmann (GER) and Jerome Guery (BEL), who’s still on a high from his win in Mexico City.

The event will be live-streamed free here.

For the full rider list, click here.