American Jonathan McCrea stepped on top of the podium on Sunday, winning the final Grand Prix at the 2018 International Bromont with Aristoteles V.

McCrea is unbeatable

Canadian course designer Michel Vaillancourt’s course comprised 13 obstacles for 16 efforts, including a triple combination coming out of a broken line. Therefore, 11 horse-rider pairs qualified for the jump-off round.

With the fastest time in the first round, Christine McCrea and Dali de Vy were first out in the jump-off, but a pole down at the seventh obstacle kept the door open for the pairs still to come, allowing them to take the lead. The next two pairs, Nicholas Dello Joio and Columbcille de Reve as well as Mario Deslauriers and Jamaica van Paemel, executed a clear jump-off round, taking the first two places in the standings at that point.

The arrival of Jonathan McCrea and Aristoteles V on the course changed things. The pair took advantage with a double clear round in a time of 42.54 seconds. Only Susan Horn and Lilly Fee (40.83) and Leslie Howard and Quadam (41.98) were able to surpass their time, but poles down, respectively at the seventh and first obstacles, prevented them from winning.

National Bank U25 Grand Prix

For the second year, the International Bromont presented a Grand Prix event especially for riders under 25 years of age. The class, presented by the National Bank and as difficult as the FEI Grand Prix, showcased the best up-and-coming riders. It was won by Cormac Hanley (IRL) and Captain Caruso, the only pair who managed a double clear effort.

International Bromont CSI3* Grand Prix

1. Jonathan McCrea (USA) / Aristoteles V 0-0, 42.54
2. Jordan Coyle (IRL) / Colorado 0-0, 42.71
3. Ali Ramsay (CAN) / Hermelien VD Hooghoeve 0-0, 43.43
4. Catherine Tyree (USA) / Catungee 0-0, 43.74
5. Lisa Carlsen (CAN) / Parette 0-0, 44.15
6. Nicholas Dello Joio (USA) / Columbcille de Reve 0-0, 44.99
7. Mario Deslauriers (CAN) / Jamaica van Paemel 0-0, 45.08
8. Susan Horn (CAN) / Lilly Fee 0-4, 40.83
9. Leslie Howard (USA) / Quadam 0-4, 41.98
10. Lucy Deslauriers (USA) / Kaspara 0-4, 43.77

U25 Grand Prix presented by National Bank
1. Cormac Hanley (IRL) / Captain Caruso 0-0, 36.50
2. Chelsea Richardson (CAN) / Vendetta Oz 0-4, 37.18
3. Stevie Murphy (CAN) / Ebab Rk 0-4, 37.71
4. Samantha Kasowitz (USA) / Charlie 0-4, 37.89
5. Ashley James (CAN) / D’Artagnan Z 4, 75.74
6. Samantha Kasowitz (USA) / G Andiamo Rodberg 4, 75.97
7. Chelsea Richardson (CAN) / Tango de l’Isle 4, 76.86
8. Catherine Tyree (USA) / BEC Lorenzo 4, 77.54
9. Muhammad Itani (CAN) / Tax Free 5, 82.17
10. Jasmine Wiggins (CAN) / Aberdeen 33 7, 90.62