Delegates from 131 National Federations were represented at the 2014 FEI General Assembly in Baku, Azerbaijan, December 11-14. The highlight of which was the election of Belgium’s Ingmar de Vos, as president.

De Vos claimed the presidency with 98 out of a possible 131 votes, then resigned from the role of secretary general. He announced that the current director of governance and executive affairs, Sabrina Zeender (SUI), would take over in the interim, until a permanent replacement is found.

In addition, on the proposal of de Vos, the General Assembly approved the composition of the Executive Board as follows:

FEI 1st vice president: John Madden (USA)
FEI 2nd vice president: HH Sheikh Khalid Bin Abdulla Al Khalifa (BRN)
Luiz Roberto Giugni (BRA)
Frank Kemperman (NED)
Athlete representative: Maria Gretzer (SWE)

The membership made several other key decisions, summaries of which can be found here. These include rule modifications, changes to FEI veterinary regulations and anti-doping and controlled medication regulations and plans for bolstering equestrian sport leading up the 2020 Olympic Games.