Equine Canada (EC) honoured some of Canada’s outstanding equestrians and supporters during the 2016 EC Annual Awards Gala, presented by Boehringer Ingelheim, held Friday, April 22, 2016 in Montreal, QC.

Held in conjunction with the EC Annual Convention, April 20-24, the Gala took place at the iconic Dalhousie Station, home of Cirque Éloize, and celebrated the national award recipients for 2015, and their impressive achievements within the equestrian community.

“We’re thrilled to recognize this outstanding group of individuals, organizations, and horses,” said 2015 EC President, Al Patterson, who presented National Awards during the Gala. “The 2015 recipients represent some of the most dedicated ambassadors of equestrian sport and industry. Congratulations to all the deserving winners.”

The following 2015 award recipients were recognized for their equestrian-related achievements. For further information, simply click on the name of the recipient:


Gold Medal Award
TORONTO 2015 Pan Am Games – Canadian Show Jumping Team

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Gillian Lawrence

Volunteer of the Year, Presented by Henry Equestrian Insurance Brokers Ltd.
Terre O’Brennan

Builder of the Year
TORONTO 2015 Pan Am Games Equestrian Volunteers

Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobson Trophy
Chris von Martels

Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy, Presented by Asmar Equestrian
Kassidy Keith

Owner of the Year, Presented by the Equine Canada Owners Club
Don J. Good

Sponsor of the Year

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year
Breeder: Jill Irving
Owners: Megan and Cathy Lane

Canadian Breeder of the Year, Presented by Equinety
W. Charlot Farms

Boehringer Ingelheim Equine Canada Health & Welfare Award
Kathy Sunberg

Equine Canada Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy
Elizabeth Toth


Jump Canada Recognition Awards
Elizabeth Bordeaux
Marjorie Dennis

Dressage Canada MH Lessard Volunteer of the Year
Cecil Pring

Dressage Canada Horse of the Year
Owner: Robyn Eames

Dressage Canada Athlete of the Year
Chris von Martels

Ron Janzen Memorial Trophy
Robert Gielen


Welsh Pony of the Year
Howran’s Prince Madoc
Owners: Marie Howran & Geneviève Dumais

Morgan Horse of the Year
Tamrac’s Enzo
Owner: Emilie Wendland

Saddlebred Horse of the Year
Foxcroft Firestorm
Owner: Stephanie Brown

Half Arabian Horse of the Year
Lady’s Man WH
Owner: Lana Weatherdon

Arabian Horse of the Year
Sur Teddy’s Magna
Owner: Lorraine Prowse

Saddle Seat Rider of the Year
Mackenzie Leubner

In addition to recognizing the 2015 award winners, the 2016 EC Awards Gala hosted the grand unveiling of the new EC brand, to be launched in June. Attendees also enjoyed a keynote address from FEI President Ingmar De Vos, as well as unique and exciting entertainment from Cirque Éloize performers.